The avant-garde digitals of Rimantas Rolia debut in Bologna

Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 5

Back to Italy, ahead to childhood

Lithuanian artist and illustrator Rimantas Rolia is back to Italy and to Bologna Children’s Book Fair. Five of his artworks have entered among 2014 selected illustrators’ pictures: an excellent occasion to inaugurate the début of Rolia’s digital art. As the author confessed to Bastart,

While creating these five images I dragged myself deep down into childhood, like never before. I think I went to a depth of 2 or 3 year-age.

Anna Castagnoli: Meet my Joker

What’s particular about Rolia’s art is that his characters very quickly start living their own life, surrounded and influenced by other voices and meta-stories (think of the legendary Two cats). As for the digital new-borns, they chose the voice of Anna Castagnoli, Italian illustrator, author and critic, as well as member of the 2014 Jury. In her blog, Le figure dei libri, Anna writes:

“Another particular work that I liked is that of the Lithuanian Rimantas Rolia, although I didn’t manage to convince other members of the Jury. I loved it to the extent to use it as my Joker (each of us had her own Joker to play with, in case she liked something others were not convinced about). You will see it in the Exhibition. There’s something very modern and tender about it. /…/

I imagine it for very small kids. What seduces me is this animal face, stylized with few points and repeated in different contexts: as the moon that sticks out between futuristic buildings, as a road sign, etc…

If I try to recall the way I saw the world with a new-born’s eyes, it seems to me exactly this way: I always used to search for a face among things, although it escape from me each and every time, just like the face of the lion or the moon behind roofs. I’m curious to know what you will think about it once you’ll see it in the Exhibition or on the catalogue.

[My free translation from the Italian: for the original text go to Le figure dei libri – Jurga’s note]

While Rolia’s illustration was shining on a huge screen, the head of the commission talked about the artist’s avant-garde nature: initially, other Jury members were even about to reject his artworks as “too avant-garde for the Exhibition”.

Rimantas Rolia at the Bologna Children's Book Fair 2014
Credit: courtesy of the artist

Five digitals by Rimantas Rolia @ Bologna Children’s Book Fair – March 24/27, 2014

Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 1
Courtesy of the artist.
Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 2
Courtesy of the artist.
Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 3
Courtesy of the artist.
Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 4
Courtesy of the artist.
Rimantas Rolia Digital Debut Bologna Childrens Book Fair 2014 - 5
Courtesy of the artist.
Words by Jurga
Say it!

